Assault Defense Attorney in Stephenville & Glen Rose, TX
Aggressive & Personalized Legal Representation
Assault is a serious violent crime in Texas and can either be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. A conviction can result in harsh criminal penalties, such as a jail or prison sentence and fines, as well as a permanent criminal record that can haunt you for the rest of your life. In order to avoid conviction or serving any time behind bars for the offense, you need to hire a skilled criminal defense attorney to defend you from start to finish.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for assault in Stephenville or Glen Rose, look no further than the Law Offices of Brady L. Pendleton to protect your rights, reputation, and future. We can evaluate your case, figure out all your legal options, and help you obtain the best possible outcome in court.
Texas Assault Laws & Penalties
In Texas, simple assault is defined as intentionally or recklessly causing bodily injury to someone else, intentionally or knowingly threatening another person with imminent harm, and/or intentionally or knowingly causing offensive or provocative physical contact.
Assault resulting in bodily injury is a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail sentence of one (1) year and/or a fine not exceeding $4,000. However, if the victim is a public servant, emergency services personnel, or government contractor performing his/her duties at the time of the assault, then the offense is a third-degree felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to ten (10) years and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Assault involving threats of violence or offense contact is a Class C misdemeanor, which carries a maximum fine of $500. However, if the victim is a disabled or elderly person, then the offense is a Class A misdemeanor. If the victim is an athlete or sports official participating in a sporting event at the time of the offense, then the assault is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by a jail term of up to 180 days and/or a maximum fine of $2,000.
If an assault results in serious bodily injury or involves the use of a deadly weapon, then it is considered “aggravated assault,” which is a second-degree felony that carries a maximum prison sentence of 20 years and/or a fine of up to $20,000. If aggravated assault involves a family or household member suffering a serious injury, a public servant or security guard performing his/her duties, or firing a gun from a vehicle at a home, building, or another vehicle, then the offense is a first-degree felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to 99 years and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Additionally, a person convicted of simple assault or aggravated assault must pay restitution to victim to cover the victim’s medical expenses and/or property damage. Remember, a conviction becomes part of your permanent criminal record.
Request a Free Case Evaluation Today
Due to the seriousness of the charges for assault, it is important to have our firm on your side throughout the entire legal process. We serve clients throughout Erath, Parker, Tarrant, Hood, Comanche, Hamilton, Bosque, Palo Pinto, Johnson, Somervell, Eastland, Brown Counties, and Tarleton State University.
Call (888) 246-6869 to learn how our Stephenville and Glen Rose assault attorney can help you.
“He really cares about his clients and takes time to listen to any questions or concerns you might have and answer them honestly.”- Carolyn
“he is very passionate about his work and others, very professional but also down to earth and treats you like a human being.”- Marlinna
“By the way, he talked and listened to me. It felt honestly like I was talking to a friend.”- Lucky